I’m single. Deal with it.

I can only liken being single to pregnant women. Some enjoy the attention that comes with pregnancy. Of having the noticeable belly and having people (strangers and/or family members) rub them, the endless questions that come with said belly “is this your first?” “do you know if it’s a boy or a girl?” blah blah blah. Others, not so much. And if I were ever to find myself pregnant someday, I would be one of the please-don’t-touch-me pregnant women.

Because no I don’t want anyone inserting themselves into my personal space and I don’t want anyone asking me personal questions either. I don’t care who you are, a stranger I’ve only just met, a family member, my Priest, back the hell off, it’s none of your business.

I feel the same way about my relationship status. What business is it of other people if I am seeing anyone or not? And why, when the answer is no (and the answer is always no) do I get the “awwwwh, well don’t worry I’m sure you’ll find someone soon” spiel? Who’s worrying exactly? Certainly not me. I find it pointless to worry about being single. In fact, I enjoy it. I enjoy sleeping in my own bed by myself where I can spread out and wriggle about as much as I want. I don’t have to worry about what I look like. I can read for hours on end at the weekend. I don’t have to worry about calling someone, talking to someone. And, most importantly, I don’t have to do feelings. Feelings take a back seat in my life and in relationships that is just next to impossible to maintain.

I get the feeling no one believes me when I say I really am fine being single because there are more important things I wish to concern myself with. I’m working hard towards building a career in Law whilst working full-time. Who has time to work on developing, and then maintaining, a relationship?

Because they are work. And I’m too busy to take on the job.

Some people can’t bear to be single. That’s fine for them. But don’t project that onto me. Also, commenting on my looks and calling me beautiful (and every other synonym of that word) is annoying. I know, #firstworldproblems right? It’s not a real problem. Except when my looks are used as a reason that my being single is tragic. I just find that beyond annoying and stupid. Because just like a pregnant woman’s tummy, my relationship status is private to me, my body, inside and out, is my own and neither of these things are an invitation for anyone to comment on them. I don’t care who you are. Unless you’re my mother, take your opinions elsewhere.

 

I’m single. Deal with it or don’t. Whatever you do, I don’t want to hear about it.

 

(single) Smurf x

Leave a Reply

